Report: 31st Annual General Meeting

25 May 2017

MGA held its 31st Annual General meeting (AGM) on 24 May 2017 at Etiqa Twins, Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur.

In his welcome remarks, the MGA President emphasized MGA’s two main priorities this year;
• Gas Advocacy
• Enhancing Value Proposition for Members.

The recent enforcement of the Gas Supply (Amendment) Act 2016 that introduces the Third Party Access (TPA) framework, is a key milestone for the industry. In order for TPA to be attractive to new players, we need to grow demand for domestic gas. MGA has actively been at the forefront of gas advocacy efforts, and via the Advocacy Working Committee, has developed a three-pronged strategy to promote fair and greater utilization of gas
1. Pursue Market-based Gas Pricing
2. Create New Demand
3. Enhance Awareness & Branding

MGA activities are organised through the five working committees that were revitalized in Dec 2016. The President is very encouraged that all committees are run by members and that the committees are functioning better than expected. He encouraged members to come forward and play an active roles in supporting MGA’s value proposition. He also looks forward to more contributions from members towards MGA’s remaining events for 2017, which are intended to raise the profile of MGA, obtain ideas from the relevant stakeholders and as platform for networking.

The AGM approved all items on the agenda of the AGM, including the re-election of 5 Council Members: Hazli Sham Kassim (PETRONAS), David Hendicott (ConocoPhillips) and M Jukris Wahab (PCSB), representing Full Corporate Members; Mustaffa Kamal Abu Bakar (Dialog) and Habib Husin (SEV), representing Ordinary Corporate Members.
Council Members also agreed on the re-appointment of Mr Hazli Sham Kassim as MGA President.
The 2017/2018 MGA Council are as follows
1. Hazli Sham Kassim (PETRONAS) as President
2. Zahid Osman (Shell) as Vice President
3. Mustaffa Kamal (Dialog) as Treasurer
4. M Jukris Wahab (PCSB)
5. David Hendicott (ConocoPhillips)
6. Zul Nurani (ExxonMobil)
7. Ahmad Hashimi Abdul Manap (GMB)
8. Benjamin Choo (Murphy)
9. Nan Yusri Nan Rahimy (Deleum)
10. Habib Husin (SEV)
11. Mohd Rashid Jamil (Scomi)

The seat fot 12th council member however remain vacant as the Secretariat only received 2 nominations for the three vacant seats for Ordinary Corporate Members.

The MGA President ended the AGM by urging MG members to play a role by advocating MGA’s position on promoting wider usage of gas.